Connect with us


NASS Leadership: Be Patient With Our Party over zoning – Adamu



The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, has urged Nigerians to be patient with the party over the zoning of the 10th National Assembly leadership.

Adamu made this known on Wednesday after a closed-door meeting held between the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Vice-President-elect, Senator Kashim Shettima, the party leadership and some stakeholders including the leadership of the ninth National Assembly at the Defence House in Abuja.

Although the outcome of the meeting, which lasted for about an hour was not made known, sources revealed that it was connected to the zoning of the 10th National Assembly leadership.

The PUNCH had reported that some lawmakers like Senator Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom south) and Jibrin Barau (Kano Central), Senator Adeola Solomon, (Ogun West in the 10th Assembly), Senator Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central), and Senator Tokunbo Abiru (Lagos East) alongside some party chiefs met with the President-elect on Tuesday.

Also on Wednesday, The PUNCH gathered that one of the aspirants for the office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives in the coming 10th National Assembly, Aliyu Berata, met with the President-elect, Bola Tinubu, behind closed doors.

However, Adamu told journalists the party was still in the mood to celebrate its win.

He said, “Nigerians should be patient with the party. We should wait. What is good for the country is what is good for us as a party. We are only celebrating the victory of our party now.”

Also, in attendance at the meeting were Kwara Governor AbdulRasak Abdulrahman and members of the NWC, including the National Chairman of the ruling APC, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the Deputy National Chairman (North) Senator Abubakar Kyari, Deputy National Chairman (South), Chief Emma Eneukwu and the National Secretary, Senator Iyiola Omisore

Others at the meeting were Senate President Ahmad Lawan; Deputy Senate President Ovie Omo-Agege, Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila; Kaduna Speaker Yusuf Zailani.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *