Connect with us


Rivers Govt Exempts Primary From October 5 Schools Resumption



From Blessing Ibunge, Port Harcourt

Rivers State Government has announced the reopening of all schools in the state with effect from October 5, this year, excluding primary schools.

The State Executive Council approved the reopening of the schools during emergency session at the weekend presided over by the State Governor, Nyesom Wike, at Government House, Port Harcourt.

The Commissioner for Education, Prof Kaniye Ebeku made the announcement while briefing journalists at the end of the meeting.

According to Prof Ebeku, all Secondary Schools, Vocational Schools, Universities and other Tertiary Institutions are affected by the directive.

He however stated that Council did not approve the reopening of primary schools based on expert medical advice.

Professor Ebeku added that the Council also approved the setting up of a Seven-man Taskforce to monitor and enforce the compliance of COVID-19 protocols in the various schools.

The Taskforce, he said, has the Administrator of Greater Port Harcourt, Ambassador Desmond Akawor as Chairman while Mr. Rufus Godwins, Head of the State Civil Service, Commissioner for Health, Prof Princewill Chike, Commissioner for Social Welfare, Mrs. Inime Aguma, Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Mrs. Ifeyinwa Nwankpa and Commissioner for Information and Communications, Paulinus Nsirim are to serve as members.

The Commissioner for Education, Prof Kaniye Ebeku is to serve as Secretary.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *